The fort

The history of Fort Marie Christine

HISTORY

In order to prevent a French invasion, the kingdom of Piedmont-Sardinia erected during the XIXe century several fortifications. Between 1830 and 1860, 5 forts were built on the Esseillon site.
Fort Marie Christine is the highest point of the fortifications, dominating the village of Aussois.

1860 came and Savoy was annexed to France. Another important event was the construction of the Fréjus railway tunnel, which was put into service in 1871. These two events reduced the strategic utility of these forts.
1970 was an important date for the commune of Aussois because it bought 4 of the 5 forts.

The future of Fort Marie Christine was now going to be quite different...

Hotels and restaurants

Culminating at an altitude of 1500 metres in the village resort of Aussois, Fort Marie Christine is a place to welcome holidaymakers, nature and snow classes (gite approved by Jeunesse & Sport and the French National Education Authority), professional meetings to literally blow your mind, but it is also a stopover gite for tourists wishing to explore the region.

Open all year round, this fort in Aussois has been mainly oriented towards tourism in the summer and winter seasons for decades, offering a gite accommodation service with a restaurant and tea room at its disposal.

Activities & leisure

IN SUMMER

Is it really worth telling you what to do in Aussois in summer? If you come to visit us in the hot season rather than go to the seaside to inflate the buoy and eat snacks, then you already have your own idea; or maybe water is not your cup of tea... Speaking of tea, our lounge at Marie Christine's fort offers a selection of refreshing drinks and ice creams as well as quality tea. But let's get back to the seasons! Here's a brief checklist of activities to do in the summer around our fort in Aussois...

Activities around the fort in Aussois

In terms of sports, for climbing enthusiasts there is the Via Ferrata du Diable with 7 sections of varying difficulty. There are routes suitable for children to keep the whole family entertained, but there are other Via Ferrata climbing routes such as the école buissonnière or the cliff of Fort Marie Christine. For more thrills, you can do activities in the air such as paragliding.

Of course, there are many hiking and biking trails in and around our municipality. Ask at the tourist office for more information about the routes. Fort Marie Christine can also advise you by phone or on site.

Within a radius of less than 30 km, you can visit farms to discover the know-how and where cheeses are for sale such as Beaufort d'Alpage, tomme, sérac, Termignon blue cheese, or butter.

Visit the Saint-Benoît waterfall just 3 km from Aussois and the interpretation area of the Belvédère des Barrages d'Aussois. To refresh yourself and combine water with hiking, you can go canyoning.

This is just an overview of the many things to do and places to visit!

IN WINTER

While winter does not brighten up all faces in the French metropolis because of the grey skies, the cold and the colds, in Aussois it is a welcome season and one that you certainly look forward to coming to visit us!

Discover a summary of the sports activities to do during this time of year...

Combining sports and raclettes

Clip on your skis, put on your sledges, put on your snowshoes, you, visitors coming from other countries to benefit from our wonderful natural heritage in Savoie, are welcome!

Your presence warms our hearts. We prepare ourselves for a good part of the year for this season in order to be quality hosts as high as your expectations; as high as the altitude of Fort Marie Christine with its breathtaking view.

On the programme: ski tours, descents of snow-covered slopes, supervision by ski professionals... nothing is missing from what one might imagine of a ski resort.

For lighter activities after a raclette, tartiflette or Savoyard fondue, take the Aussois plateau trail from the fort. Some 12 reading tables on the path allow you to better understand the landscape.

On the cultural side, visit the Oé Arch to discover one of the oldest houses in the village.

Contact the Tourist Office for more information on activities and places to visit in Aussois.

The PHOTO GALLERY

Our fort in Aussois in pictures

Le fort

L' histoire du fort Marie Christine

HISTORIQUE

Afin d’empêcher une invasion française, le royaume du Piémont-Sardaigne érigea au cours du XIXe siècle plusieurs fortifications. Entre 1830 et 1860, ce sont donc 5 forts qui sortirent de terre sur le site de l’Esseillon.
Le fort Marie Christine est le point culminant des fortifications ; dominant le village d’Aussois.

1860 arriva et ce fut l’annexion de la Savoie à la France. Autre fait marquant : le percement du tunnel ferroviaire du Fréjus mis en service en 1871. Ces deux événements réduisirent l’utilité stratégique de ces forts.
1970 a été une date importante pour la commune d’Aussois car celle-ci acheta 4 forts sur les 5.

L’avenir du fort Marie Christine allait être maintenant tout autre…

Hôtellerie et restauration

Culminant à 1500 mètres d’altitude dans la station village d’Aussois, le fort Marie Christine est un lieu d’accueil pour vacanciers, classes nature et neige (gîte agréé Jeunesse & Sport et l’Éducation nationale), de rendez-vous professionnels pour en mettre littéralement plein la vue mais c’est aussi un gîte étape pour les touristes qui souhaitent parcourir la région.

Ouvert toute l’année, ce fort à Aussois est principalement orienté vers le tourisme des saisons été et hiver depuis des décennies en proposant un service d’hébergement en gîte avec à disposition un restaurant et un salon de thé.

Activités & loisirs

EN ÉTÉ

Est-ce vraiment utile de vous dire quoi faire à Aussois en été ? Si vous venez nous rendre une petite visite en saison chaude plutôt que d’aller en bord de mer gonfler la bouée et manger des chichis, c’est que vous avez déjà votre petite idée ; ou peut-être que l’eau n’est pas votre tasse de thé… En parlant de thé, notre salon au fort Marie Christine vous propose une sélection de boissons et de glaces rafraîchissantes mais aussi du thé de qualité. Mais revenons à nos saisons ! voici un bref aide-mémoire des activités à effectuer l’été autour de notre fort à Aussois…

Activités autour du fort à Aussois

Côté sports, pour le amateurs de grimpe, il y a la Via Ferrata du Diable avec 7 tronçons de difficultés variées. Des parcours adaptés aux petits sont là pour amuser toute la famille, mais il existe d’autres voies d’escalades de la Via Ferrata comme l’école buissonnière ou la falaise du fort Marie Christine. Pour davantage de sensations fortes, vous pouvez faire des activités dans les airs comme du parapente.

Bien sûr, de nombreux sentiers pour réaliser des randonnées à pied ou en VTT s’étendent dans notre commune et ses alentours. Renseignez-vous à l’office de tourisme pour en savoir davantage sur les parcours. Le fort Marie Christine peut aussi vous conseiller par téléphone ou sur place.

Dans un rayon de moins de 30 km, vous pouvez visiter des fermes pour découvrir des savoir-faire et où des fromages sont à vendre comme du beaufort d’Alpage, de la tomme, du sérac, du bleu de Termignon, ou encore du beurre.

Visitez la cascade Saint-Benoît à seulement 3 km d’Aussois et l’espace d’interprétation du Belvédère des Barrages d’Aussois. Pour vous rafraîchir et allier l’eau avec la randonnée, vous pouvez faire du canyoning.

Ce n’est ici qu’un aperçu des nombreuses activités à faire et des lieux à visiter !

EN HIVER

Alors que l’hiver n’égaie pas tous les visages dans la métropole française à cause du ciel gris, du froid et des rhumes, à Aussois c’est une saison bienvenue et que certainement vous attendez avec impatience pour venir nous rendre une petite visite !

Découvrez un récapitulatif des activités sportives à effectuer durant cette période de l’année…

Allier sportS et raclettes

Clipsez vos skis, enfourchez votre luges, chaussez vos raquettes, vous, visiteurs venus d’autres contrées pour bénéficier de notre merveilleux patrimoine naturel en Savoie ; soyez les bienvenus !

Votre présence réchauffe nos cœurs. Nous nous préparons une bonne partie de l’année pour cette saison afin d’être des hôtes de qualité à la hauteur de vos espérances ; aussi haut que l’altitude du fort Marie Christine avec sa vue imprenable.

Au programme : randonnées à ski, descentes de pistes bien enneigées, encadrement par des professionnels de la glisse… rien ne manque de ce qu’on peut imaginer d’une station de ski.

Pour des activités plus légères après une raclette, tartiflette ou fondue savoyarde, parcourez le sentier du plateau d’Aussois au départ du fort. Quelque 12 tables de lecture sur le chemin vous permettent de mieux comprendre le paysage.

Côté culture, visitez l’arche d’Oé pour découvrir une des plus anciennes maisons du village.

Contacter l’Office de Tourisme pour avoir plus de renseignements sur les activités et les lieux à visiter à Aussois.

La GALERIE PHOTOS

Notre fort à Aussois en images